iPhone vs Blackberry

Since we made the Wildly Courageous Decision at ViRTUS to become the Apple of the consulting world, I have been tracking Apple religiously.  My company (ViRTUS) is run completely on Macs (well okay, except for the one PC that runs the accounting software).  I use a BlackBerry Pearl but I have been considering going to iPhone.  In my research I came across this video of a BlackBerry user who switched over to iPhone and he does a great job of sharing the pros and cons of both devices so I thought you might find this interesting:  

I have an iPod Touch as well so from my experience the only drawback I can come up with is the touch screen typing.  I use my BB Pearl for email constantly and I’m consistently faster on it when compared to the iPhone.  So aside from that (and that’s a biggie), I’d say it’s advantage iPhone.

I have a free upgrade coupon on my account right now so I’m going to upgrade to a BlackBerry Storm (their new touch screen device) as soon as TELUS launches it (rumours have that as Nov 15th).

4 responses to “iPhone vs Blackberry

  1. Hi Mike,

    Great post as I am agonizing over what to do. It seems to me that the Blackberry is still the bomb for business and the iphone is a great toy. I am on the waiting list for a Storm in 3 stores as well. Lets hope it is as good as we hope. Because of your post I will probably make do a post also down the road after I have had time to use the Storm for a bit.

  2. Other options to consider include HTC’s Dream running on Google’s Android platform:

    http://mycto.wordpress.com/2008/09/19/

  3. Update on the Storm. David Pogue from the NY Times wrote an article dissecting the Storm, actually eviscerating is probably a better verb:
    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/27/technology/personaltech/27pogue.html?_r=2&em

  4. The problem with this review is that buddy is comparing it to the Pearl. He needs to compare it to a BOLD. The Bold is 10x better than the Pearl or the old Curves… 10x. Typing is faster, browser better, default HTML reading (without required software upgrade), Video viewing and recording (iPhone doesn’t even have that), much improved browsing experience.

    Many people i know that have tried iPhones are coming back to Bold.

Leave a Reply

